Which side of the fence do you tower over? Tall Girls – A Story of Giants

If you click on the image below, it will take you to the trailer for this film. “Tall Girls – A Story of Giants”. This trailer will simultaneously break your heart, gross you out, make you sad and make you angry. At least it did for me.

If you don’t want the trailer spoiled, watch it before you read the rest of this post.

I am 186cm and admittedly, adolescence isn’t the easiest time for a lanky, lanky, lanky, (lanky) awkward tall girl. That being said, I never investigated the possibility of stunting my growth, whether through drugs or surgery. I didn’t know it was an option. That being said, I don’t know that I can completely fault these girls for exploring that option. I say that because I don’t know their circumstances, I’m unfamiliar with their culture and as a whole network of blogs  will tell you, there are difficulties associated with being tall.

 

But life is full of difficulties. (Yep, I flipped back again.) So I guess my question is this: because you know you can give yourself a potentially better life- more chances at love, easier clothing options, among others- do you? If there were drugs available to make short people grow taller, they would take them, wouldn’t they? Or would they make the most of the cards they had been dealt?

Writing this post, I realize how biased I am. I would not have asked for drugs or considered surgery. Because at the end of the day, I was also the other girl in the trailer. No, I don’t have an illustrious modelling career to show for it- I never pursued it, but I was often on the receiving end of the, “Excuse me, are you a model? You’re so tall,” question. And of course it gave me confidence. It made me feel like tall was beautiful and something that was valued… But not by boys. Boys were elusive and made themselves scarce at dances. I would call this the sad foreshadowing and indicator of the low birth rate for tall women.

I am looking forward to the opportunity to view screening of this movie. Until I do, here’s a quote from the movie.

“When you’re taking your child to the endocrinologist every year and having them undergo testing and constant measurements and looking at their growth chart, how do they get the message that they’re ok?”

 

 

6 thoughts on “Which side of the fence do you tower over? Tall Girls – A Story of Giants

  1. This was fascinating to me. I’m (only) 5’9″ but definitely taller than all my friends, and 3 inches taller than my husband, even. I’d never heard of people trying to medically limit their growth, and can’t imagine it. Like you, I guess I can’t fault them since I’ve never been there, but I’d worry that they will someday find some horrible side effect. Very interesting, though!

    • Yeah, it kind of blew my mind the first time I saw it, too. The one girl already mentioned that she wished she hadn’t gone through with it because she is now having issues with her knees.
      Thanks so much for your comment and reading this post!

  2. Wow. I understand restricting growth if it was going to pose health hazards or the height was EXTREMELY excessive (I’m talking towards 7 feet), but 190cm is only 3cm taller than me! I’d never have considered trying to restrict my growth.
    I’m 6’2″ and I’ve pretty much always loved being tall (yes, high school was difficult, but it is for everyone – tall or short!!).
    My husband’s 6’2″ as well, so I’m lucky. But I’ve never had a problem with guys – there are many different people with many different tastes out there!
    It’s just sad, to me. I think people should stop wanting to be something that they’re not, and just love who they are.

    • Hi Stomparella, thanks for your comments, very insightful and very true. It broke my heart.
      Hopefully, these girls do not suffer physically more than they think they would have psychologically for getting these procedures done.

  3. I think it’s great that there are options for girls to stop their growth. Let’s get real and not sugar coat things. I am almost 6ft, and I was also a show girl. I was taller than the other show girls and at the end of the day the managers and DJ would come in and flirt with all the girls but stop at me and one other tall girl as they were going down the line. I wore heels on a date once and a guy shouted “atoms apple” at me right in front of my date. Then, some guy tried to introduce my bf to a petite girl right while I was there. He broke up with me later by the way. I get gawked at when I go to the store, I was harassed by a guy about how transgendered women are getting show girl jobs (as if I was one of them) and how unfair he thought it was. I know I’m not manly looking, I have wide hips and all feminine features. Guys are attracted to me but I usually have to approach them first, but then they often don’t call after a while. If I could do it over again, I would have had the surgery or injections. I don’t care about the side effects because stress and depression will kill you quicker than anything anyway. I’m on antidepressants because of my height and those have side effects. We don’t live for ever so why not live happy. I think that mothers who don’t consider this option for there daughter are not putting their child’s best interest at heart and it’s child abuse. Yes, some tall girls can become models, but that career ends as soon as they turn 25. Then what? I have heard that taller women actually have a higher birth rate, but where do we see this in reality?

    • Hi Anna,
      Thanks for your comment, and sorry it has taken me so long to reply.
      It sounds like you have definitely encountered a lot of negativity and frustration regarding your height and you provide a similar perspective to those in this movie. Thanks for taking the time to share it.

Tell Tall Lady your thoughts:

