Tall Pants: My Lululemons are ripped at the bottom and that’s OK with me

Not until the last ten years or so have I noticed a selection – and that’s a stretch – of long-pant clothing options. And even though it has increased, I still have to check the hem at the bottom of a pair of pants before I buy them to see how much I can let them down. Dress pants in particular and athletic wear in particular.

Back when jogging pants were the “in” thing..

For whatever reason, jogging suits were the trendy uniform of choice in grade four and five. And that wasn’t awesome for me, because in order to get jogging pants that were somewhat long enough, I would have to get them a size or two bigger than what I needed and often made me look like… “a marshmallow.” There are quotes around that, because I quote a boy from my class who called me “a marshmallow.”  Another alternative was to buy the grey unisex jogging suit that was not cute at all. AND WHO COULD FORGET THE ELASTIC AROUND THE ANKLE- or in my case, above the ankle. Ugh.

Ohhhhh, all I needed to do was add heels and that would have made them cool.

Cut to 2005 – Tall Lady enters Lululemon

One or two pairs of Brooks trackpants later, I decided it might be time to see what all the hype was about. I am not entirely sure how I made it that long before actually purchasing anything from Lululemon, but I did. (And in Vancouver, that’s a miracle.)

Low and behold, I tried on a pair of their classic Groove pants- AND THEY HIT THE FLOOR. Because they have “tall” options. That’s ME!

Because I was a newbie to Lululemon, like most other pants, I figured they would shrink a bit so I opted not to get them hemmed. Even though they said they wouldn’t, I figured I knew better.

And so, the pants dragged on the ground. And now they are all frayed, ripped and torn after years of continuing to refuse to get them properly hemmed. And it’s because I never knew what it felt like to have pants that were too long for me. I still like the feeling, and I still wear them. And yes, they are over seven years old and still don’t see any need to get new ones as otherwise, they are in fantastic condition.

These yoga pants have taken a beating and are going strong.
Let’s rock.

They are pretty hardcore as far as my commitment to these pants go. It looks like I am not afraid to get into a rumble on my way into a yoga class. Yeah, maybe with my mean “Standing Bow Pose”.

 

2 thoughts on “Tall Pants: My Lululemons are ripped at the bottom and that’s OK with me

  1. Love this post! Check out our selection of extra-long merchandise at Talltique.com We have jeans, pants, dresses and skirts that will all give you this feeling too!

Tell Tall Lady your thoughts:

