Some Tall Lady Pros and Cons, Jimmy Fallon Style

Jimmy Fallon

That is one tall lady…

As much as I loved Jimmy Fallon on SNL, I didn’t buy into his cache as a late night host right away. I think I was trying to be controversial for the sake of being controversial. But I digress, I digress. I really love the show now- some of the things I love most about it are the way he plays games with his guests where he doesn’t lose to be polite, how he incorporates funny skits into random parts of the show, his fantastic musical parodies and the ridiculous banter between him, his announcer and sometimes the Roots. I also realized I didn’t include any of the regular segments, like Thank You Notes, Late Night Hashtags, and (you’ve seen this coming) Pros and Cons.

In the style of Jimmy Fallon, here are some Pros and Cons about being a tall lady.

PRO:

I can turn off all the TVs mounted high up at my work without using the remote.

CON:

I also hit my head on said TVs if I am not careful. Which I really need to be.

PRO:

As a teenager, people always thought I was older than I was.

CON:

Same thing now. Boo. Where is the logic in that, may I ask? People don’t continue to get taller as they age past the age of 20 at the most, right?

PRO:

I can see over peoples’ heads in crowds.

CON:

People behind me complain that my head is in the way.

PRO:

People ask me to help them get things off the top shelves in grocery stores. I don’t mind, I like to help.

CON:

Sometimes they form a lineup.

PRO:

People remember me easily.

CON:

In moments of compromised judgement after drinking “liquid courage”, I wish they wouldn’t.

PRO:

I get compared to stately, graceful, statuesque animals.

CON:

Also Godzilla.

We all have our moments.

11 thoughts on “Some Tall Lady Pros and Cons, Jimmy Fallon Style

  1. Might be my favourite so far!

  2. Thank you for your lovely e-mail, Tall Lady. πŸ™‚

    You have a great site, and I enjoyed this post very much. I see you’re 6’1″, so you are taller than me. But I do qualify for TL status, as I’m 5’9″. In high school, I was one of the conductors for our marching band, and for costumes for our show with music from the movie, “Hook,” the other conductor dressed as Captain Hook, and I dressed as Peter Pan. And quickly earned the nickname, “Jolly Green Giant.”

    My sister is, strangely, half-a-foot shorter than me. But other than our heights, we are very similar. And I do admit, I took great pleasure in the 90s calling her Mini Me.

    Glad to have found your blog, and I wish both you and your mother (hopefully!) a happy blogging journey.

    • Thank you so much for the comment! Yes, nicknames are quick to come by when you’re tall- or just slightly different, for that matter. Things like Peter Pan costumes, however, are catalysts!

  3. Godzilla? That’s a new one to me πŸ˜‰ They usually said flagpole and tall ungainly jerk.. πŸ˜‰

  4. hahahahaha! As I am taller than some and not fully considered a “tall lady” I love the list of PRO & CONS. You should mentioned hitting your head on the overhead compartment on the airplane πŸ™‚ it happens to a lot of people.

  5. Thats great!!! Love it!!! you could add the stares of children as you walk by and they are walking in the opposite direction tugging their mommies dress and saying “shes tall” as they walk into the glass door…. it has happened. I am 6’3″ and some kids tell me how BIG I am or how Huge I am. *i am not fat at all. LOL. Some peoples kids…. i have taught my four boyst he differecne of tall and huge but like kids do, they call it like it is, tall or fat or huge, they know what they all mean and will use when truthful. :S

Tell Tall Lady your thoughts:

