A Peplum for the Long-Waisted Tall Lady

I just checked: Peplum’s will continue to be a staple in the Fall 2013 fashion sphere. They are flattering, they are versatile and can easily transition from day to evening…but every time I try one on, it looks ridiculous.

I wanted to wear a peplum top to go with a skirt I was going to wear to a party. I tried them on at several stores and ran into the same issue with each one: the point at which they flare out was just too high on my waist and barely passed my ribcage, if at all. The seam on a peplum should occur at the smallest part of your waist and then flare out. This was not happening. It was giving me double hips. (One set is enough, thanks!)

SO- I went shopping, and found a solution! A simple look that can create the illusion of a peplum without having to sew one together yourself. Unless you’re crafty like that.

1. Find a long blouse of a flowy fabric. Nothing too structured.

2. Find a stretchy belt, thick or thin (will depend on how much extra length you have in the blouse.

3. Snap that belt around your waist and VOILA! Tall Lady peplum with a belt at the natural waist!!!

Image

Tell Tall Lady your thoughts:

