Tall Lady at Her First Blogger Event!

A blogger event? Me? I felt like I would be an imposter. Yes, I have a blog, but I have been inconsistent at my postings, but recently, I have made the decision to go all-in. But I didn’t think I would fit in with a group of well-established professional bloggers. But I was wrong, because apparently, by nature, my fellow Vancouver  bloggers are friendly, funny, helpful and supportive. That’s how I wound up there in the first place, by a new connection, the lovely Eschelle of Mumfection, who coaxed me and made me feel like not belonging was not an option.

I wanted to share some highlights with you, and some things I learned about my first blogger event.

The Introduction and forming of a Tall Lady Legion

At the beginning of the night before the speakers began, they decided we could go around the room and introduce ourselves, And of course, they started with me. By complete fluke. I didn’t even think geographically that made sense based on room formation, but that was probably cause I was being a chicken.

“Hi everyone, my name is Yvonne… my blog is Who’s That Tall Lady dot com…” and before I could go on, one by one, two other tall ladies in the room stood up. I love it when the Tall Ladies stand together! I didn’t have a chance to talk to them both, but check out Angela Crocker’s website and blog. Angela chatted with me a bit later and I shared with her some of my insecurities about blogging and she gave me some very helpful advice.

I Need To Get Better at Documenting!

Don’t forget to take pics! I really need to remember to take more pictures. I took one. That was it. See below. It’s of food, so I figure that’s a good start!

Neverland

The delicious and beautiful treats provided at Neverland Tea Salon!

Get my Tweet on: As it was a Parent Bloggers Unite event (and no, I’m not even a parent- how inclusive are they?), the hashtag was #PBUYVR. I also learned I need to just get a liiiiittle bit faster at Tweeting.  I find it difficult to tweet, though, and make sure I am not missing any of the valuable information being shared by Nicole Christen, guest speaker, founder and CEO of My Real Review.

I was sitting beside blogger and fitness industry expert Dai Manuel and before I even realized that people were tweeting, I opened Twitter and Dai had already tweeted about 37 times. Insightful and interesting Tweets about what Nicole was saying. I guess with live-Tweeting and the fitness, you only improve if you practice!

Get Proper Business Cards

I have proper business cards for my 9-5, but I don’t have them to represent my blogger-self. I had to get by and felt uber rinky-dink by handing out my work business cards with my blog URL scrawled on them.

And Last But Not Least…. Write to Write

It was great to hear Nicole reiterate that while there is opportunity to monetize blogs, she reminded us to “write to write” if that’s why we started in the first place. For me, it definitely is, and I wanted to write something I would find interesting, and hope that I could reach others, too. The community, the great people I meet through blogging… that is all a huge bonus!

Until next time!

Yvonne

 

3 thoughts on “Tall Lady at Her First Blogger Event!

  1. Great tips! I am awful at tweeting too and I especially need to get business cards for my blog. It is so much easier to have cards ready vs speling out “Junoesque” to people. Thanks for sharing.

    Elayna

  2. Uhhh, tweating, I’ve never liked hollering in a room full of people… doesn’t change when I’m on the web…

Tell Tall Lady your thoughts:

